Mary Magdalene, the Holy Myrrh-bearer and Equal to the Apostles
Saturday, July 22, 2017
Today is Fast Free
Visit the Online Chapel for more daily readings, hymns, a monthly calendar of saints and feasts, and more.
Our Faith

House of God
The visitor to an Orthodox Church is usually impressed by the unique features and the external differences between this place of worship and those of the various traditions of Western Christianity. Learn more»


 

Sunday School Schedule 2013-2014

DateSunday School
September 1 Registration for the 2013 - 2014 school year
September 8 Registration for the 2013 - 2014 school year
September 15 First day of Sunday School class
Exaltation of the Holy Cross and Saint Sophia
September 22 Sunday School — 1st Sunday of Luke
September 29 Sunday School — One God, Father, Son and Holy Spirit (Unit 1 / Lesson 2) and Philoptochos Annual Champagne Brunch
October 6 Sunday School — Divine Liturgy (Unit 1 / Lesson 2)
October 13 No class — Chicago Marathon
October 20 Sunday School — Gifts (Unit 1 / Lesson 3)
October 27 Sunday Family Workshop* — "Family Worship at Home"
November 3 Sunday School — Patriarch Athenagoras and the Evangelists
November 10 Sunday School — The Bible (Unit 2 / Lesson 2)
November 17 Sunday School — The Bible (Unit 2 / Lesson 3)
November 24 Sunday School — Planning for Christmas Pageant; Music, Essays, Poetry, Readings, Icons, Godparents invitation
December 1 Sunday Family Workshop* — "Nativity" and the Christmas Program
Special Invitation for Godparents
December 8 Sunday School — Practice for Sunday School Pageant
December 15 Sunday School — Practice for Sunday School Pageant
December 22 Sunday School — Christmas Pageant following the Divine Liturgy
December 29 Sunday School — Honor our Parents (Unit 4 / Lesson 1)
January 5 No class
January 12 Sunday School — Holy Epiphany (Unit 4 / Lessons 2 and 3)
January 19 Sunday School — Saints (Unit 6 / Lesson 1)
January 26 Sunday School — Helping Others (Unit 6 / Lesson 2)
February 2 Sunday School — Hot Dog Sunday
February 9 Sunday School — Church Spreads OCMC (Unit 6 / Lesson 3)
February 16 Sunday School — Sunday of the Canaanite
February 23 Sunday Family Workshop* — "Journey Through Lent" (Zine)
Macaronada Luncheon
March 2 Sunday School — Holy Spirit (Unit 6 / Lesson 4) and Patron Saints
March 9 Sunday School — Sunday of Orthodoxy (Students bring an icon)
March 16 Sunday School — Forgiveness and Repentance (Unit 4 Lesson 4)
March 23 Sunday School — Sunday of Holy Cross and Annunciation
March 30 Sunday Family Workshop* — "Holy Week" (Zine)
April 6 Sunday School — Holy Week (Zine)
April 13 Sunday School — Palm Sunday and Palm Sunday Luncheon
April 18 Good Friday Retreat
Activities from 12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
• 12:00 PM — Lentil Lunch
• Help decorate the Epitaphio
• Easter crafts and activities
• 3:00 PM — Attend Apocathilosy Service
April 20 Easter Sunday — "Agape Service"
Egg Hunt or other activity with the whole family.
April 27 Sunday School — Sunday of St. Thomas
May 4 Sunday School — Defend our Faith (Unit 5 / Lesson 4)
May 11 Sunday School — Practice for Awards Ceremony and Review Year
May 18 Awards Ceremony following Liturgy
Last day for the 2013-2014 school year
June Sunday School Picnic in the Park
* Sunday Family Workshop — parents join their child during Sunday School.

Download schedule.

Orthros and Divine Liturgy
Sunday School Begins immediately after Holy Communion
Sunday, July 23 – 8:15 AM

Orthros and Divine Liturgy
+St. Pandelleimon
Veneration of the holy relic
Thursday, July 27 – 9:00 AM

Orthros and Divine Liturgy
Sunday School Begins immediately after Holy Communion
Sunday, July 30 – 8:15 AM

Paraklesis
Wednesday, August 2 – 6:00 PM

Paraklesis
Friday, August 4 – 6:00 PM

Great Vespers
Holy Transfiguration Monastery
Saturday, August 5 – 7:00 PM

Orthros and Divine Liturgy
Sunday School Begins immediately after Holy Communion
Sunday, August 6 – 8:15 AM

Paraklesis
Monday, August 7 – 6:00 PM

Paraklesis
Wednesday, August 9 – 6:00 PM

Paraklesis
Friday, August 11 – 6:00 PM

Orthros and Divine Liturgy
Sunday School Begins immediately after Holy Communion
Sunday, August 13 – 8:15 AM

Great Vespers
Greek Orthodox Church of the Assumption 601 S Central Ave, Chicago, IL 60644, United States
Monday, August 14 – 7:00 PM

Orthros and Divine Liturgy
+The Dormition (Falling Asleep) of the Virgin Mary
Tuesday, August 15 – 8:30 AM

Orthros & Divine Liturgy
+Feast of St. Stamatios
Nameday Celebration of Fr. Stamati
Wednesday, August 16 – 9:00 AM

Orthros and Divine Liturgy
Sunday School Begins immediately after Holy Communion
Sunday, August 20 – 8:15 AM

Feed The Hungry
Tuesday, July 25 – 11:30 AM

Feed The Hungry
Annunciation Cathedral
Tuesday, August 8 – 11:30 AM