Annunciation of the Theotokos
Monday, March 25, 2019
Fast Day (Fish Allowed)
Visit the Online Chapel for more daily readings, hymns, a monthly calendar of saints and feasts, and more.
Lenten Prayer Of St. Ephrem The Syrian

O Lord and Master of my life!
Take from me the spirit of sloth, faint-heartedness, lust of power, and idle talk.
But give rather the spirit of chastity, humility, patience, and love to Thy servant.
Yea, Lord and King! Grant me to see my own errors and not to judge my brother, for Thou art blessed unto ages of ages. Amen.

Our FaithHistory

The Church has her origin with Jesus Christ and the Holy Spirit, not with a human teacher, or group, nor a code of conduct or religious philosophy. Learn more»

Great Lent, Holy Week, and Pascha Website

Annunciation Greek Orthodox Cathedral of Chicago

"Welcome one another, therefore, just as Christ has welcomed you, for the glory of God." — Romans 15:7

Centrally located near the heart of the city, the Annunciation Greek Orthodox Cathedral is the oldest church edifice built specifically as a Greek Orthodox Church in the Metropolis of Chicago.

Established by the original Greek Orthodox community in the city in 1892, the church was built on its present site in 1910 and faithfully models the Byzantine-Renaissance style of architecture.

Throughout its sacramental life the community and her clergy have served every level of society through a wide range or programs and services. As Cathedral for the Metropolis of Chicago, the church serves as a focal point for major Metropolis ministries such as the "Feed the Hungry" program, and Metropolis and Clergy conferences.

As cathedral, the Church of the Annunciation is the seat of the Metropolitan of Chicago, spiritual father and bishop to sixty parishes and two monastic communities in the states of Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Minnesota, Missouri and Wisconsin. more»


Schedule of Services

Sundays
Orthros (Matins): 8:15 AM
Divine Liturgy: 9:45 AM
Sunday School immediately following Holy Communion
Fellowship and coffee following Liturgy

Complete schedule of services.

Orthros and Hierarchical Divine Liturgy
Monday, March 25 – 8:30 AM

Presanctified Liturgy
Wednesday, March 27 – 6:00 PM

Salutations to the Theotokos
Friday, March 29 – 6:30 PM

Orthros and Divine Liturgy
Sunday School Begins immediately after Holy Communion
Sunday, March 31 – 8:15 AM

Great Compline
Monday, April 1 – 5:45 PM

Presanctified Liturgy
Wednesday, April 3 – 6:00 PM

Salutations to the Theotokos
Friday, April 5 – 6:30 PM

Orthros and Divine Liturgy
Sunday School Begins immediately after Holy Communion
Sunday, April 7 – 8:15 AM

Great Compline
Monday, April 8 – 5:45 PM

Presanctified Liturgy
Wednesday, April 10 – 6:00 PM

Akathist Hymn
Friday, April 12 – 6:00 PM

Orthros and Divine Liturgy
Sunday School Begins immediately after Holy Communion
Sunday, April 14 – 8:15 AM

Great Compline
Monday, April 15 – 5:45 PM

Presanctified Liturgy
Wednesday, April 17 – 6:00 PM

Orthros and Divine Liturgy
Sunday School Begins immediately after Holy Communion
Sunday, April 21 – 8:15 AM

Feed the Hungry
St George
Tuesday, March 26 – 11:00 AM

Sunday, March 31 – 12:00 AM

Catechism
Monday, April 1 – 7:00 PM

Catechism
Monday, April 8 – 7:00 PM

Philoptochos Meeting
Monday, April 8 – 7:00 PM

Feed the Hungry
St Basil
Tuesday, April 9 – 11:00 AM

Festival Meeting
Wednesday, April 10 – 7:00 PM

Catechism
Monday, April 15 – 7:00 PM

Catechism
Monday, April 22 – 7:00 PM